I Miss Bernie

920x920Election day is finally here. This mess of an election is almost over and all I’ve been able to think about is how much I miss Bernie Sanders. I worked harder on this election than I have ever worked on any election ever. First for Bernie and then after the convention for Jill Stein of the Green Party. Now that it’s over, and I’ve cast my vote for Jill, as far as this election goes all that’s left for me to do now is to watch it all play out. But now that the work is done all that I’ve really thought about is how much I really miss Bernie, and how I should be watching him get elected president tonight.

I’m not here to dispute that the primary was stolen from us, that has been proven, it’s a fact. Bernie Sanders is the rightful Democratic nominee for president and Donald Trump wouldn’t have stood a chance against him. Bernie would have become president in a historic landslide victory. Can you imagine how exciting it would have been to get to watch the states all turn blue tonight as he trounced Trump? To get to watch our hard work come to fruition as Bernie won. To be filled with the hope of what a Bernie Sanders presidency could mean, not just for us, but for the future, and for the planet. To get to know that we had elected a man of integrity for president that is going to fight for and actually cares about us. I bet that would have felt amazing.

I wanted to feel that but more than that I wanted my kids to feel it. I wanted them to see a man like Bernie Sanders as their president. I wanted what he offered for their futures and their children’s futures. I knew he wouldn’t get done everything he wanted of course, but it would have been awesome to watch him fight for the things he would have gotten. I wanted my kids to get to see a president like that as much as I wanted to see it. I was even looking forward to taking my daughter to the inauguration to watch him get sworn in.

56ccac4f08fb7-imageIm angry that was stolen from us. I know that it’s over and we have to move on. I know that we still have Bernie in the senate fighting for us. I also feel very confident that we will get Jill much more than the 5% she needs to get the Green Party recognition as an official national party in 2020. I know that’s still good and I need to try to focus on the positive and I’m trying to but I’m just still angry about it and I don’t know that I ever won’t be.

What happened to Bernie was a disgrace to democracy and it made damn sure that I and millions like me will never lose our sense of outrage. We may not have defeated the oligarchy but we sure put up one hell of a fight and it’s far from over. We are going to keep fighting and stay alert. Our guard isn’t going back down and we won’t stay silent. We’ve exposed corruption in our government and our media and we will keep on exposing it. We are woke and we will wake others. If we hold on to that sense of outrage and keep fighting and sharing the truth we can take our country back and finally restore our broken democracy. From this point on the only way that they can win is if we lay back down.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

